What is the time limit to file a Hawaii personal injury claim?

You must act quickly when looking to file a Hawaii personal injury claim, as the Hawaii statute of limitations generally has a 2-year time limit for opening a claim. This limit may vary, depending on who the defendant is in your claim, and also if it is a medical malpractice injury that may not have been apparent at the time of error. When your claim involves a victim that is a minor child or incompetent, the time limit may be extended in some cases.
 
If you are filing a Hawaii personal injury claim against a non-government individual or business you have 2 years from the date of your accident to do so. The Hawaii statute of limitations allows for 2 years for medical malpractice as well, however it is 2 years from when you discovered the malpractice error and the injuries you sustained.
 
When your Hawaii personal injury claim involves a government employee or government-maintained facility the Hawaii statute of limitations may be much shorter. In most cases, claims against the State of Hawaii or its employees follow the standard 2-year rule. However, it’s best to check with a personal injury attorney as soon as possible to begin filing your claim to avoid missing your window of opportunity.
 
After a serious accident in Hawaii, you should be able to spend your time focusing on your recovery; not dealing with insurance adjustors, never-ending paperwork and complicated legalese. Hawaii attorneys Davis Levin Livingston will fight for your rights while you focus on healing. Serving accident victims on Oahu, Maui, the Big Island, Kauai and beyond. Contact us today for a free case evaluation – 866-806-4349.
Posted in Personal Injury

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*